CANBERRA REPERTORY SOCIETY

Minutes of 71st Annual General Meeting, Canberra REP Theatre, Monday 1 May 2023

The meeting opened at 7:33pm – Chaired by Antonia Kitzel (President)

In Attendance: Jeanette Brown, Russell Brown, David Bennett, Elizabeth Goodbody, Michael Sparks, Liz de Totth, Wolfgang Hecker, Antonia Kitzel, Rowan McMurray, Neil McRitchie, Anne Freestone (Gallen), Stephen Fischer, Mal Tompkins, John Klingberg, Anne Turner, Tady Carroll, Victoria Dixon, lan Hart, Neil McLeod

Proxys supplied: David Goodbody

Attending: Helen Drum (Business Manager).

Observers: Tina Lynam, Geoff Winter, Winston Bucknall

The President declared the meeting open and welcomed all attendees.

1. Apologies received:

Oliver Raymond, Helen Raymond, Suzanne Hecker, John Drum, Michelle Gordon, Virginia Cook, Joan White, David Goodbody, John Gieroszynski, Andrew Kay, Rosanne Walker, Alexandra Pelvin, Ros Engledow, Gordon Dickens, Anne Dickens, Corille Fraser, Malcolm Houston, Thomas Leffers, Margot Leffers, Judi Crane Wilkins, Peter S Wilkins, Judy Schou, Henning Schou, Hazel Taylor, Dennis Taylor, Alice Ferguson, Edwin Brigs, Dick Goldberg, Lois Goldberg.

The President introduced the report to the meeting.

2. Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 2 May 2022

A Motion was moved to receive the minutes from the previous meeting. CARRIED. It was moved, seconded and accepted to pass the minutes. CARRIED.

3. Business Arising from the Minutes

Nil

4. Receipt and adoption of the Report of Council for 2022

A MOTION was moved to receive the Report of Council for 2022. CARRIED. Meeting advised of an error in recounting the year of the hailstorms in the President's report. To be amended online.

It was moved and seconded to pass the Report with above amendment.

CARRIED.

5. Business arising from the Report of Council

Nil.

6. Receipt and adoption of the Income and expenditure Statement for the year ended 31 December 2022 and the Report of the Auditors for 2022.

A Motion was moved to receive the Income and expenditure Statement for the year ended 31 December 2022 and the Report of the Auditors for 2022. CARRIED It was moved and seconded to pass the Report. CARRIED.

7. Business arising from the Accounts

Nil

8. Appointment of the Council of the Society for the ensuing term/s

- (a) One Vice President two year term
- (b) Four Council Members two year term

It was NOTED that there was no election this year, as there were less nominees for positions vacant.

Appointed to the incoming Council are:

Virginia Cook (Vice President – 2years)

Stephen Fischer (Treasurer - 2 years)

Michael Sparks (Member – 2 years)

Wolfgang Hecker (Member – 2 years)

Anne Gallen (Freestone) (Member – 2 years)

The new Council members were introduced to the meeting.

It was NOTED that they would be joining the current Council members not up for reelection:

Antonia Kitzel – President

Alexandra Pelvin - Vice President

Victoria Dixon

M Elizabeth Goodbody

Ian Hart

A MOTION was moved to thank all those who served on the Council last year and are coming on board now. CARRIED

It was moved and seconded to thank the Council members. CARRIED.

9. Special Resolutions: Nomination of Wolfgang Hecker for Life Membership

Jeanette Brown, the nominator invited to speak to the resolution. Her nomination, which was included in the Agenda was read to the meeting. The nomination, seconded by Malcolm Houston and approved by a panel of Life Members. Words from M Houston in support read to the meeting.

Accepted and approved by the meeting by general acclaim.

10.General Business:

No further business, President thanked the Council members for all their work, and offered special thanks to Liz de Totth for her work on Council.

Meeting closed at 19:43pm